Articles Stories

Latest Updates on the 2022-23 Big Bash League

2022-23 is the 12th season of Australia’s Big Bash League, and it is scheduled to begin on the 13th of December. The reigning champion, the Perth Scorchers, go into the competition as favourites; however, you should know a few things about each team and the chances they have in the BBL. We have outlined some important Big Bash League betting predictions, team news, and valuable squad propositions in Australian sport.

We have got you covered on all sides when it comes to any news related to Big Bash League cricket.

BBL 2022-23 Teams and the Complete Squad

The 2022-23 BBL sees eight teams going head-to-head, and they’re currently waiting patiently to get started. The eight teams competing in the 12th season of the BBL include the following:

  • Perth Scorchers,
  • Melbourne Renegades,
  • Sydney Sixers,
  • Melbourne Stars,
  • Hobart Hurricanes,
  • Sydney Thunder,
  • Brisbane Heat,
  • Adelaide Strikers.

Latest News on the Big Bash League 2022-23 Season

The prestigious BBL Championship Trophy circles around Australia over the next two weeks to officially launch the KFC BBL|12th season. Beginning at Perth Stadium on the second day of the NRMA Insurance Test Series, the BBL Championship Trophy tours Australia’s east coast, from Cairns in far-north Queensland to Hobart in south-east Tasmania.

The BBL Trophy Tour comes to an end at Canberra’s Manuka Oval when it is delivered centre wicket ahead of the first game of the KFC BBL 12 between Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars on the 13th of December.

In addition to the major capital cities, the BBL Championship Trophy goes regional, with Cairns and the neighbouring city of Albury in southern NSW among the locations hosting men’s Big Bash games for the first time on December 15 and 31, respectively.

New BBL Rules for 2022-23 

For the 2022-23 BBL season, there are a few new rules drafted for the effective administration of the tournament. The rules include a power surge, DRS, and the Slow Over Rate penalty. These rules are briefly explained below.

Power Surge

This divides the traditional six-over power play into two sections. 4+2. The first four must be taken at the start of the inning, and the final two can be taken at any point after the 10th Over.


DRS will be available for all BBL 2022-23 matches, which should help reduce umpiring gaffes. To be honest, it was a long time coming, and Cricket Australia is only now catching up to the standard that the world’s top leagues have already achieved.

Slow Over Rate Penalty

A complete BBL inning should last 79 minutes. If the team has not completed its overs quota in that time, it will be forced to field with an extra fielder inside the 30-yard circle. This is another very welcome move that should help the game’s pace.

Final Words

The Big Bash League is always a great event to watch. It attracts more and more people. So, if you haven’t enjoyed it yet, then give the BBL a chance.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment